Some time ago, gluten became a popular term in the world of diets. Lose weight, detoxify, have more disposition, reduce inflammation of the body: the tip is to cut or reduce gluten.
There are those who defend subsistence allowance, noting that protein restriction is beneficial even when there is no allergy or intolerance. Others argue that deprivation should only be followed when there is some sensitivity.
Regardless of the position taken, there is a group that should definitely move away from the foods with gluten: celiacs, allergy sufferers and people with protein sensitivity.
Therefore, both those who cannot consume the protein as those who prefer to eliminate it from the food need to watch the labels and the origin of the food.
Protein, which was unknown to many people, is present - and sometimes almost hidden - in many foods and products.
- What is gluten?
- What are gluten-free and lactose-free foods?
- Fruits, vegetables and vegetables in general.
- Rice, potatoes and other carbohydrates
- Corn starch, sprinkles and flours
- Quinoa, amaranth and vegetable proteins
- Meat, egg and animal protein
- Juices, sodas, tea and other beverages
- Do oats contain gluten?
- What breads are gluten-free?
- List: what foods have or can have gluten?
- Gluten-free foods: care beyond food
- Therefore, a good gluten-free diet should include:
- Attention to labels
- Cook separately
- Proper storage
- Own utensils
- Knowledge of the source
What is gluten?
Know what the gluten it is already a good start to know what foods contain it.
Is a protein naturally present in wheat, rye and barley. So you may already know that this French muffin is prohibited on the gluten-free diet..
This protein gives the dough elasticity, allowing it to be worked, stretched and shaped more easily. Therefore, it is used in many food.
The gluten free diet doesn't always mean calorie reduction, since the most common substitution of food without gluten it is for other starches and flours from other cereals.
This can mean the same, and sometimes even higher, calorie intake..
Therefore, it is not enough to eliminate from diet wheat flour and cereals such as rye and barley to follow the gluten-free diet.
Those who know the labels on the packages will already have noticed that many foods that do not contain flour still contain gluten..
Juices, candies, chocolates, cornstarch, yogurts can contain protein due to cross contamination. Therefore, the list of foods that are truly gluten-free is even more restricted..
This is because, unlike other allergens, protein particles adhere to industrial machines, production utensils, ovens, and even dissipate in the air..
Therefore, those who need to follow a diet without gluten due to sensitivity or celiac disease they have to redouble their attention even in home production to avoid contamination.
What are gluten-free and lactose-free foods?
Some products, such as cereals, grains, and seeds, are naturally glute freen. Many can be used in place of wheat, rye or barley, being a good option to adapt recipes.
Besides gluten, some people want or need eliminate lactose of your diet too.
Unlike gluten, it is a sugar present in milk and dairy products. And it is closely associated with intestinal dysfunctions and intolerances, when there is insufficient, little or no production of the enzyme lactase, responsible for the lactose digestion.
The best advice for cases of severe lactose intolerance is to invest in milk and plant derivatives such as soy, almonds, chestnuts, coconut and many others, thus avoiding the consumption of animal products.
For those who have some enzyme production, products without or with zero lactose or the use of enzyme lactase they can be great alternatives.
Although there is no gluten in several products, its production can take place in places that also work with wheat, rye or barley, for example.
Thus, if a company processes gluten-free chocolate and gluten-free chocolate in the same machine, they will both be contaminated..
So, Looking at the label is always important!
But some products that they are gluten and lactose free and they are jokers to use in prescriptions are:
Fruits, vegetables and vegetables in general.
In addition to being naturally gluten and lactose free, fruits and vegetables are rich in nutrients and are very good for your health. Among them:
- Apple, banana, papaya, watermelon and all other fruits;
- Lettuce, watercress, cabbage, cabbage, and all other vegetables;
- Zucchini, spinach, pumpkin, eggplant, and all other vegetables.
Basics of balanced nutrition, these products help the body function properly and generally do not need much care when it comes to contamination, except in the case of pesticides and pesticides..
The main attention is focused on storage and sanitation, remembering that they should not remain in contact with other products that contain gluten..
Rice, potatoes and other carbohydrates
Cereals are very important in the diet and some are naturally gluten-free and also lactose-free, which is only present in milk and dairy products..
Rice has a few variations, such as white, boiled, whole, wild, and black. In addition, there are other carbohydrates such as:
- Gluten-free rice noodles;
- Sweet potatoes, English potatoes, and other variations;
- Cheese bread;
In addition, potatoes, pumpkins and sweet potatoes are also part of a group of good carbohydrates, since they are a source of nutrients.
Corn starch, sprinkle and flours
There are several natural gluten-free flours. Corn flours are well known and are part of several traditional recipes, such as couscous and polenta..
Some suggestions to include in the diet are:
- Corn cake or cornmeal;
- Cornstarch porridge.
There are cornstarch, rice flour, potato starch and sprinkles that are part of various recipes for gluten-free breads and cakes..
In addition, for those who like to venture into gluten-free recipes, the combination of these flours results in a mixture capable of giving recipes a more flexible and elastic consistency..
Quinoa, amaranth and vegetable proteins
Quinoa is a food that has become popular recently.
Considered a superfood, it is rich in nutrients and, in addition to being gluten-free, it is ideal for reinforcing protein intake. Therefore, it can be consumed by vegetarians and vegans.
Likewise, amaranth is a grain rich in protein that can strengthen the diet.
Among other suggestions are:
- Green peas;
These products can integrate recipes and replace ingredients with gluten.
Meat, egg and animal protein
For people with lactose intolerance, there are milks and derivatives enriched with the enzyme lactase on the market, which allows its ingestion.
But if you are allergic to milk protein - casein - you have to exclude all foods derived from animal milk to avoid any type of contamination.
In this case, the proteins must be well balanced in other sources, such as eggs and meat (fish, beef, chicken and pork).
Juices, sodas, tea and other beverages
In general, sodas and teas are gluten-free. On the other hand, packaged juices, chocolate drinks, vitamins or other industrialized beverages can often contain gluten and lactose..
The rule for all drinks is to always look at the label.
Do oats contain gluten?
Of course, oats are gluten free. However, many people think that food has that protein. This is because, in general, the cereal is grown, harvested, stored and processed in soils, machines and factories that process products with gluten..
Therefore, it is also polluted.
Currently, some companies already offer gluten-free cereal, taking great care in cultivation, processing and packaging.
What breads are gluten-free?
When someone discovers celiac disease, allergy, sensitivity, or intolerance to gluten, one of the first foods to cut is bread..
And it doesn't matter which one: French, milk, water, homemade or hot dog. If you have wheat, rye or barley flour, you have gluten.
But that does not mean that all breads have gluten, because on the market there are several products specially produced for those who do not consume protein..
And the variety is increasing, including:
- Potato bread;
- Cassava bread;
- carrot bread;
- Multi-grain bread;
It is also possible to find labeled whole wheat bread, which is made with brown rice flour. In addition to hot dog bread and hamburgers, with specific formats for these sandwiches.
List: what foods have or can have gluten?
When shopping, it is important to pay attention to the labels and list of ingredients. Sometimes he gluten It is found in products that do not arouse suspicion, including:
- Cakes, breads, cookies and sandwiches;
- Cereal bars, fruits or dehydrated fruits (in the case of dehydrated fruits, the presence of gluten can occur due to cross contamination);
- Derivatives of milk and milk beverages;
- Seasonings, condiments and prepared broths;
- Dehydrated soups;
- Pasta in general;
- Morning cereals and granola;
- Prepared Drinks;
- Raw seasoned meat;
- Industrialized sweets;
- Food supplements and shakes;
- Canned and processed meats;
- Coffee and chocolate powder;
- Chewing gum, candy and chocolate.
This does not mean that all gelatin or chocolate is gluten-free, but it may be due to cross-contamination or the insertion of gluten-containing products into production..
Also, it is worth remembering that there are companies that produce these same foods especially for people with gluten restrictions. Therefore, even pizzas, breads and beers can be found in gluten-free versions..
Gluten-free foods: care beyond food
A healthy diet and gluten-free should give priority to foods rich in vitamins, minerals, low in sugar, fat and preferably less industrialized.
As already mentioned, a diet with gluten restriction or exclusion it is not always less caloric and / or lighter.
That is basically what any balanced diet needs..
The difference is that, when there is a gluten restriction, the attention should be on the nutritional tables, on the way of preparation and on the food preparation.
Therefore, a good gluten-free diet should include:
Attention to labels
It's the law: each package must indicate whether or not the product contains allergens such as gluten and lactose. Therefore, reading the packaging and paying attention to the ingredient list is the best way to eat safely..
Preparing food at home with gluten-free ingredients does not mean being risk-free if the gluten is consumed by other residents.
Ovens, sandwich makers, grills, utensils and other appliances should be separate, preferably without preparing gluten-free foods in the same environment as gluten-free foods.
After preparing food or when shopping, it is important to see if the storage is correct. Mixing the products, putting them in the same package or throwing away the gluten products contaminates the food.
In the same way that handling needs to be separated, it is important to use your own utensils.
Many patients have a low or moderate sensitivity, showing no symptoms after using contaminated dishes, but this does not mean that the gluten present in it does not affect the body.
Ideally, keep everything separate: pots, cups, cutlery, etc..
Knowledge of the source
Some foods do not have labels, so it is always important to know how they were made, stored, and with what ingredients. Knowing the origin is essential.
Gluten-free diets are part of the routine of many people, either for well-being or health reasons, such as intolerance or allergy.
Therefore, knowing what foods contain gluten, what care must be taken and what can be replaced is important to follow a healthy diet.
Summary Article Name Gluten-Free Foods, List, Consumption and Diet Care Description Gluten became a popular term in the world of diets. Lose weight, deflate the body: the tip is to cut or reduce gluten. Author Natalia